6/17

 

june

If I thought that last month was a big reading month, this month is a huge everything month. I feel like I not only read double what I did last month but I also posted more than last month. I can’t believe that June is over and that we’re halfway through 2017, it seems like literally yesterday this year only started.

 

literature //

read

Lady Midnight 5/5 ⭐ – I finished my reread of Lady Midnight this month, I have an entire post about it planned for it but I will say that I genuinely think this is the best Shadowhunters book in a while and I can’t WAIT to have my mind blown by Lord of Shadows.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children 4/5 ⭐ – I reread this after finally watching the adaptation and it’s just as good as I remembered.

When The Moon Was Ours 5/5 ⭐ – WHY DIDN’T I READ THIS BEFORE NOW. Review to come.

Hollow City 4/5 ⭐ – I picked this up almost immediately after finishing Miss Peregrine’s and wow is this a smash of a sequel, it takes the series into such a darker feel I love it. You can read my review here

A Short History of Tractors in Ukranian 2/5 ⭐ – I thrifted this book a couple months ago because I thought it looked and sounded quirky, I was honestly a little disappointed but not surprised.

Survivor 2/5 ⭐ – I’m not ashamed to admit that the only reason I picked it up was because it’s a Palahniuk, you can read my review here

On the Edge of Gone 3/5 ⭐ – I thought this book was okay, definitely not a bad read.

World War Z 2/5 ⭐ – One of the first books I ever thrifted over a year ago, I picked it up because I’d seen the movie and wanted to see how much was changed when it was adapted. I thought the fact that it was an oral history was interesting but honestly I was really disappointed, you can read my review here

Geekerella 4/5 ⭐ – This was such a cute fandom-y read!

The Hate U Give 5/5 ⭐ – This book is so powerful and one of my faves of the year, I don’t know how I’m going to manage to put it all into words but a review is to come.

The Fifth Wave  2.75/5 ⭐ – I’ve been saying I wanted to reread this I started bookstagraming, don’t know why because I didn’t like it the first time but I finally did. 2.75 for now but I’m debating between a 2.5 and a 3.

24/50 read in 2017

hauled

I want to think that because I didn’t pay full price for any of these books that my purchases this month were smart but … then I realize just how many books I’m cramming onto my already full shelves (14! FOURTEEN).

IMG_5160.JPG

Near the beginning of the month I picked up The Girls for 20% off and ordered a copy of The Flame in The Mist. I also went thrifting for the first time in a while and the shop that I went to had an amazing YA selection so you know I had to browse, I ended up getting copies of Red Queen, The Invasion of The Tearling and Flawed. I also picked up a copy of Cat’s Eye and took advantage of a BookOutlet sale (15% off! Bless).

I didn’t expect to get my BookOutlet package until next week – so technically July – but it was dropped off this morning so my haul jumped from an ‘okay this is fine’ level to ‘why did you buy this many books’ level, I grabbed: The Bane Chronicles bind-up, A Gathering of Shadows, The Bone Season, After the Woods, Vinegar Girl, Vassa in the Night and Ivory and Bone. All except for one are hardcover and they’re all in A+ condition so I’m one happy gal.

I was ecstatic to find out that I’d won a Goodreads giveaway this month and I wasn’t expecting to find it in my mail so soon! thank you Simon and Schuster Canada for sending me an advanced copy of The Nowhere Girls.

 

life //

50 Books in 2017

After finally, finally, catching up on my original reading goal of 30 I somehow managed to get ahead by a few books and my overconfident brain went: “why don’t you up your goal, you can totally read FIFTY books this year, totally”. The regret was immediately when I was then six something books behind [crying emoji]. As of today I’m on track but I pretty much have to read at least one book a week ahhh.

 

media //

watched

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children 4/5 ⭐ – I think this was actually a pretty decent adaptation, it wasn’t as dark as the book but it was still a very fun and pretty fast-paced movie.

The Edge of Seventeen 4/5 ⭐ – awkward, quirky, and a really relatable movie about growing up.

The Girl with All the Gifts 4/5 ⭐ – I told myself I wasn’t going to watch this until I had read the book but I saw it on Netflix one night and I just couldn’t resist, I think this is a really refreshing take on the zombie apocalypse and I really enjoyed it.

The Fosters S4 4/5 ⭐ – one of my literal fave shows, if you aren’t watching this already you definitely should be. It’s incredibly diverse and isn’t afraid to tackle ‘hard issues’ that some family-oriented shows shy away from.

listened to

Bad Liar by Selena Gomez

Greek Tragedy by The Wombats

Lay It On Me ft. Keiynan Lonsdale by Kasbo

 

blog //

review: code name verity – the post in which there aren’t any spoilers

review: history is all you left me – the post in which I ramble

a handful of favourite films – the post in which I rec some films

one year on bookstagram – the post in which I look back

review: geekerella – the post in which I fall in love with another book I thought I wouldn’t

mid – year freakout book tag – the post in which I’m tagged

Leave a Reply

