July TBR

 

TBR

It’s been a while since I’ve set a monthly TBR, I don’t usually do them because I always end up feeling really restricted and like I have to read only those books. But, I also keep skipping over books on my TBR shelves because I’m “not quite ready to read that yet” so this month I randomly selected (using the good old paper slips in the jar method, these books are marked with an +) a few from my shelves and I also went a little wild with my library’s hold featureΒ πŸ˜…

I figured sharing them here with you would keep me motivated to climb this small mountain of books I have in store for me.

 

currently reading

I should probably start with what I’m already reading as I’ve gotten a bit of a jump start on my pile already:

Beatrice & Virgil by Yann Martell + – I’m about halfway through this already, I loved Life of Pi and Martell’s writing style in general but I’m finding this one a tad sluggish.

Smoke Gets in Your Eyes: And Other Lessons From the Crematory by Caitlin Doughty – Smoke Gets in Your EyesΒ is an autobiography about Doughty’s time in the cremation industry and it’s so fascinating in a really morbid kind of way.

I update my current reads periodically on goodreads if you want to follow along with my thoughts on these.

from my shelves

White Space by Ilsa J. Bick 2.75/5 ⭐ +Β – I’ve actually already finished this one (I really did mean it when I said jump start), you can read my full review here. This book had a great premise but it was just so confusing and I’m not a huge fan.

Bone Gap by Laura Ruby +

Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs

 

 

for class

I don’t usually include books that I read for class in my blogging but since I’m going to be reading quite a few this month I thought I’d share them:

Margaret Atwood: A Biography by Nathalie Cooke

The Door by Margaret Atwood

The Circle Game by Margaret Atwood

Morning in the Burned House by Margaret Atwood

 

on hold

These are all books that I’ve got holds on, they’re probably more apart of a ‘I hope I’ll get to read these this month’ pile rather than a TBR but anyway:

Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow

The Lovely Reckless by Kami Garcia

The May Queen Murders by Sarah Jude

The X – Files Origins: Agents of Chaos by Kami Garcia

The Princess Saves Herself In This One by Amanda Lovelace

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

Saints andΒ MisfitsΒ by S.K. Ali

 

So that’s fifteen (!) books including the ones I need to read for class, I read quite a few books last month so I’m going to at least try to be confident that I can finish all of these by the end of the month. What’re you planning on reading this month?

2 thoughts on “July TBR”

Leave a Reply

