Spider-Man: Homecoming | 2017 [Spoilers]

sm.png

Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)

Director: John Watts

Starring: Tom Holland, Michael Keaton, Jacob Batalon, Robert Downey JR, Zendaya

Released: July 7th | Marvel Studios

Rating: 4/5 ⭐

Spider-Man: Homecoming was one of my most anticipated releases this year, besides Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 I hadn’t seen the last couple Marvel movies so I was really excited to get back into the superhero world. I’ll tell you right now that I absolutely loved this movie, it hit it right out of the park for me. Spider-Man: Homecoming is fresh, it’s funny, Tom Holland is adorably awkward as Peter Parker and I think this movie is overall a great reboot to the Spider-Man franchise.

As you can probably guess it’s not an origin story remake, Homecoming doesn’t fuss around with Peter getting bit by spiders and figuring out his powers. Homecoming is set a couple months after the events of Captain America: Civil War and it’s all about Peter trying to make it as an Avenger (when he really isn’t one) and just overall friendly neighbourhood superhero shenanigans.

I think Homecoming is genuinely funny and its choke full of witty one-liners (Donald Glover’s “I’ve got ice cream in there” is my personal favourite) that I think set a really nice tone for the movie; Homecoming definitely has some great action scenes but this isn’t the Avengers saving the world it’s Peter getting up to trouble and maybe also stopping the bad guy dealing illegal alien weapons? I’m not sure how Michael Keaton’s Vulture compares to other villains in the MCU, he definitely isn’t as downright evil as others have been but I quite liked him and I thought his wingsuit was pretty cool.

When I first saw the previews and trailers for Homecoming I was honestly worried that this would be an Iron Man movie with a dash of Spider-Man so I was quite happy when it turned out that Iron Man’s role in the movie is as a mentor not co-star. Yes, he’s definitely present and part of the plot-line revolves around some Stark stuff but the focus is firmly on Peter and his story. I just really loved watching Peter deal with his big dreams of being an Avenger, of using his powers for something.

Since I’ve done nothing but gush let’s make this paragraph the ‘things that disappointed me’ paragraph. I was really disappointed to see that Zendaya has practically no part in the movie, there was such buzz about her character and her role in the movie but she only ends up having five or six lines and honestly … you could erase her character and the movie wouldn’t change at all. Granted the lines she does have are pretty great ones and I loved what we got to see of her character, but considering she IS supposed to be MJ  – a literal main character – she could (and honestly should) have gotten a lot more screen time. I might be a little bitter just because I love Zendaya and was really looking forward to her role in the movie. MV5BNTk4ODQ1MzgzNl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMTMyMzM4MTI@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,658,1000_AL_.jpg

This next point didn’t disappoint me I’m just confused by it, in Homecoming it seems like Peter can only do the traditional Spider-Man powers like shooting webs and climbing walls with the use of his suit/web shooters … I thought the whole point of him being SPIDER-Man was that he can do these things on his own? Anyway.

I thought Tom Holland did a really amazing job as Peter Parker, Peter was so adorably dorky and awkward and wholesomeHomecoming’s Spider-Man refused to use his suits ‘instant kill’ mode and ended up saving the man who literally tried to murder him MULTIPLE TIMES. At the end of the day he was all about doing good. I’m definitely in the camp of we should stop casting full grown adults with full grown adult bodies to play teenagers (and therefore feeding into the unrealistic and often damaging body standards imposed on teenagers) but nothing about Holland’s performance felt weird to me; in Homecoming Peter is supposed to be 15 so a lot younger than Holland’s 21 but I never really felt like Holland was some middle-aged man trying to pass himself off as a teenager. I don’t know if it’s because Holland is still on the younger side when it comes to superhero movies but the performance just felt very genuine and realistic. I also really loved Ned and I can’t wait to see more from Jacob Batalon, I think Batalon and Holland have a really nice dynamic and their characters make a lovely team.

If you’re looking for a fresh and funny new Marvel movie this is definitely the movie for you, in all honesty I was kind of getting bored with the MCU because it was just the same action over and over but Homecoming’s really turned it around for me.

2 thoughts on “Spider-Man: Homecoming | 2017 [Spoilers]”

Leave a Reply

