The Princess Saves Herself in this One | Amanda Lovelace [Spoiler Free]

princess

The Princess Saves Herself in this One // Amanda Lovelace

 

 Synopsis [From Goodreads]:

“Ah, life- the thing that happens to us while we’re off somewhere else blowing on dandelions & wishing ourselves into the pages of our favorite fairy tales.”

A poetry collection divided into four different parts: the princess, the damsel, the queen, & you. the princess, the damsel, & the queen piece together the life of the author in three stages, while you serves as a note to the reader & all of humankind. Explores life & all of its love, loss, grief, healing, empowerment, & inspirations.

 

Actual Rating: 2.99 / 5 ⭐

 

I really, really, wanted to love The Princess Saves Herself in this One (Princess for short because whew! what a title) and I really did try to for the majority of the book. I picked Princess up a little bit because of the hype and a little bit because of a recently acquired craving to fill all aspects of my life with poetry (Thank You College), I was soso intrigued by the title and the story of a princess becoming a queen – I loved that it explored empowerment, loss, love and grief. But (there’s always a but) I’m honestly a little disappointed, unfortunately I don’t think that Princess lives up to its hype for me and I ended up feeling like a lot of the poems in it to be quite … mediocre.

Let’s start with what I loved about Princess because my reading experience wasn’t all bad. I think there’s quite a few poems in Princess that do leave a very powerful lasting impression, even though I flew through this in the half hour I had before one of my classes I was still thinking about some of Princess’s words hours later. There are quite a few poems that are very though provoking and quite poignant, my personal favourites are: you may be gone, but I still have a stomachache, worth the wait and the other side. I also quite liked all the concrete poems and the unique structures that Lovelace plays with throughout the book. There is undeniably a very raw and honest emotion behind Princess and I think there’s quite a few poems in it that show a real talent. 517Bf26IjpL.jpg

However (this is where the bad things come in if you hadn’t guessed), there were quite a few things about Princess that I didn’t like. I’ve seen some reviews say that Princess isn’t poetry and I don’t want to suggest with my negatives that it isn’t because I think ‘poetry’ in itself is a very broad thing – anything can be poetry really. But I definitely don’t think Princess’s particular brand of poetry is for me, I live for lush imagery and clever little devices, a lyricality to words that I just didn’t find in Princess. A lot of the poems in Princess didn’t feel like fully fledged poems to me but rather snippets and inspirations that could be poems; a lot of the poems relieved very heavily on triteness and cliché so while I was definitely impacted by the words they were very seldom delivered in fresh and hook-me-right-in ways.

I really don’t want to knock Princess and say it’s terrible because I think there is an absolute raw emotion behind these words that I quite powerful and there are poems in its last section, like fuck rape culture, that need to be blasted from the rooftops. I just don’t think that Princess is for me, while I didn’t like this book I appreciated it and I think in the hands of the right person it would be a smash.

| CreateSpace | April 23rd 2016 | 156 Pages | Goodreads |

1 thought on “The Princess Saves Herself in this One | Amanda Lovelace [Spoiler Free]”

Leave a Reply

