7/17

july

So, I pretty much set myself up for a HUGE reading month this July and I actually feel a little accomplished because I somehow managed to read almost all of this month’s TBR (including my for-class reading)  💪

I can’t really believe it’s going to be August soon and that means the end of summer and THAT means having to face adult responsibilities.

 

literature //

read

White Space 2.75/5 ⭐ – I finished White Space quite literally at the beginning of the month so I talked a little bit about it in my TBR post but you can also read my full review here.

Beatrice & Virgil 3/5 ⭐ – I didn’t think the story was bad but I wasn’t blown away, I really read it more for Martel’s writing.

Smoke Gets in Your Eyes: And Other Lessons from the Crematory 4/5 ⭐ – A morbidly fascinating memoir about a women’s time in the cremation industry, full review here.

The May Queen Murders 3.75/5 ⭐ – The May Queen Murders had been on my TBR for a year before I finally picked it up, I was pleasantly surprised by it and really loved it’s vibe. You can read my review here [spoilers].

Girl in Pieces 3.75/5 ⭐ – a very gritty and very real read, my review is here [spoilers].

The Lies of Locke Lamora 4/5 ⭐ – I stumbled upon this book and even though high fantasy isn’t really my thing I gave it a shot. Boy am I glad I did that because I LOVE this book it’s full of cursing and thieving and fighting, full review to come.

Sun from a Distant Land 4/5 ⭐ – A total cover pickup that turned out to actually be quite fantastic.

Saints and Misfits 4/5 ⭐ – Such a lovely read with such a wonderfully complex main character, honestly this checks all my boxes for what I look for in a contemporary. You can read my review here!

The X-Files Origins: Agent of Chaos 4/5 ⭐ – I love the X-Files so I really quite enjoyed this book but, while you don’t need to have watched the entire series to understand it I do think it works better if you have a general knowledge about the series/characters.

The Lovely Reckless 3.5/5 ⭐ – I don’t tend to lean towards just romance books but the plot of The Lovely Reckless actually sounded really intriguing, while I liked it it was very insta-lovey and I couldn’t help but want more focus on other parts of the story.

The Princess Saves Herself in this One 2.99/5 ⭐ – I flew through this one and while there were poems that I did enjoy I just don’t think the style’s for me. I have a full review already up for this one.

Endgame: The Calling 3.99/5 ⭐ – My last read of July, you can read my review here.

36/50 books read in 2017

 

haul

IMG_5904

This month I acquired (for free) the first three books in the Gentlemen Bastards

Sequence: The Lies of Locke Lamora, Red Seas under Red Skies and The Republic of Thieves as well as The Elfstones of Shannara. I also picked up used copies of The Name of The Wind, Endgame: The Calling and Life After Life.

Then a couple days ago I wandered into a bookshop’s sale and bargain section and walked out with The Hate U Give, Milk and Honey and Scythe.

 

media //

watched

Spider – Man: Homecoming 4/5 ⭐ – This was honestly one of my most anticipated movie releases of the year and it did not disappoint it was so fun and so adorable.

Beauty and the Beast 4/5 ⭐ – I feel like there’s not much I can say about this because there wasn’t really any change to the plot but I still enjoyed it and actually sang along #noshame.

The Neddeaus of Duqesne Island 3.5/5 ⭐ – This is one of THE weirdest television shows I’ve watched, it’s a fake documentary about a small family living on an island in Ontario but it was made in homage to the real unreleased documentary.

What We Do in the Shadows 5/5 ⭐ – This has been on my to watch list for a while and I was so excited to watch it, it’s a fake documentary about vampires in New Zealand and it’s so funny.

Game of Thrones Season 1 4.5/5 ⭐ – I’m about six years late to the party but I’m still showing up that counts right?

Arrival 5/5 ⭐ – This is a phenomenal movie about aliens and language and time, I 10/10 recommend.

 

on the blog //

adaptation battle: miss peregrine’s home for peculiar children

review: the princes saves herself in this one

review: spider-man: homecoming

review: when the moon was ours

tbr: july

 

2 thoughts on “7/17”

Leave a Reply

