books I NEED to read before 2018

 

2018

I am really good at buying books, promising myself I’m going to read them right now and then letting them sit on my shelf for a year. So I thought I would share with you a few books that I’m determined to read before the year is over – hopefully this post will hold me to it!

 

A Darker Shade of Magic / V.E. Schwab

I bought this book last August which means its been sitting unread on my shelf for a year, an entire year. I tell myself I’m going to read it every few months but I just never pick it up. I love Schwab’s writing and I’ve heard so many good things about it that I even bought the sequel but I still put it off because I’m a little afraid of the hype and ending up disappointed.

 

Six of Crows / Leigh Bardugo

Another book that I’m afraid to start, Six of Crows has been sitting on my shelf for nearly as long as A Darker Shade of Magic but I’ve been wanting to read this one since it came out so I have NO IDEA why I haven’t read it yet. I’ve heard such great things about this one (and its sequel) so if I don’t get to it this year I’ll be downright MAD at myself.

 

Flame in the Mist / Renee Ahdieh

I’ve been anticipating Flame in the Mist since finishing the The Wrath and The Dawn duology, which I adore, and now that it’s in my hands I’m so excited. I have yet to start this one because I’m waiting for the ~perfect moment~ but I’m determined NOT to let it sit on my shelf for a year.

 

Lord of Shadows / Cassandra Clare

I’ve been itching for Lord of Shadows since I first read Lady Midnight and my recent reread has got my positively jumping out of my skin to read it but I’m weirdly conflicted about starting it. On one hand If I wait as long as possible to read it my bookish hangover won’t be as big while I wait for the third book but on the other hand, I might die if I don’t read this book and find out what happens.

 

Milk and Honey / Rupi Kaur

I debated on whether or not to buy this book SO MANY times until I finally did and then I put it on my shelf and it’s been sitting there, which makes no sense because I could probably finish it in a couple hours. I keep telling myself that I want to be in the right mood so that I can really appreciated the poetry but honestly I’m a little worried it’ll be another the princess saves herself in this one situation.

 

Hag-Seed / Margaret Atwood

Last on my list is Hag-SeedΒ  because I’m not as determined to get to this one as I am all the others but I do really want to read it this year. I love Atwood’s writing and I’m 90% sure I’m going to love this one because its about my biggest love in the world: theatre (and also Shakespeare).

 

Are there any books you’re determined to read before the year is over?

IMG_6657.JPG

 

5 thoughts on “books I NEED to read before 2018”

Leave a Reply

