9/17 | September Wrap – Up

 

SEPT

Compared to previous months this year I’ve actually had a pretty light reading month, even though I read pretty much my whole tbr it wasn’t nearly as big as some of my others have been. As well, I have officially finished my 2017 goodreads challenge! πŸŽ‰Β This is the first challenge I’ve ever done and I’m a little proud of finishing early considering that I bumped my goal up halfway through.

Before I dive into all the things I loved this month, if you want to check out what I read in August there are reviews for most of the books up on my goodreads.

 

what I’ve been reading

Burial Rites 3/5 ⭐ – This book had been on my tbr since I made my goodreads so I was pretty excited to finally pick it up, I have a full review here if you want to read all of my thoughts but in short it was just kind of … okay. It was very atmospheric and the writing itself was beautiful but I found it to be very … very slow.

The Bane Chronicles 4/5 ⭐ – After reading this bind-up I might actually have to call myself a fan of novellas now, I loved all the stories in this book and I thought they were so fun and I can never get enough Magnus so.

Red Queen 3.75/5 ⭐ – This was my reread of the month, I am hoping to do a whole rereadable on it if I have enough thoughts but I did end up bumping my rating up a bit. Red Queen is pretty typical YA but it’s still a fun read and it has some really interesting characters.Β IMG_8283.JPG

The Wise Man’s Fear 4/5 ⭐ – FINALLY I HAVE DONE IT I have finished what has been published of The Kingkiller Chronicles and now I begin my long wait for book 3. I thought this book was amazing and a really strong sequel and I have a full review coming soon-ish.

The Invasion of The Tearling 4.5/5 ⭐ – My final and favourite book of September, I actually think I love this one more than the first book. There’s so much growth and hard decisions and darkness in this book, I was literally biting my nails throughout the last quarter of this book it was really intense. This series is one that I definitely didn’t expect to love as much as I do.

I also read the first couple hundred pages of Red Seas Under Red SkiesΒ this month, I’ve liked what I’ve read so far but I’m going to be putting it on a back burner for a while. It just wasn’t grabbing my attention like I wanted it to and there’s so many other books I’m itching to get to, I debated just dnfing it but I do still really want to know what happens to the characters so finishing it is tbd.

 

what I’ve been watching

Since I didn’t do an August wrap-up and I honestly haven’t been watching a lot shows/movies lately I thought I would mash the past couple months together.

Misfits 4/5 ⭐ – So many people in my life have told me that I NEEDED to watch this and I never thought I was interested in it but I finally started it and uh … I LOVE IT.

Neo Yokio 4/5 ⭐ – I don’t watch a lot of anime and my knowledge of anime is pretty much limited to Avatar: The Last Airbender (I don’t even know if this actually counts as anime?) so I don’t exactly know if Neo Yokio is necessarily … good, but I loved it. There are SO MANY relatable lines and moments in this show and I ended up watching the entire thing in a day. I also really like the full of soft colours art style and the classical-esque music soundtrack, plus the premise of the show itself is really interesting.

The Five 4.5/5  ⭐ – Why are British crime dramas so ?? damn ?? good ?? This show was so engrossing and emotional, I didn’t see a lot of the twists coming and I didn’t put anything together until nearly the very end. Also the cinematography and framing and whatnot was beautiful.

The Good PlaceΒ  3.75/5 ⭐ –Β Honestly this is actually a really nice comedy, it’s not laugh out loud funny but it’s still humorous and fun and snappy. Also Kristen Bell was great, her characters great and kinda relatable. YOU WON’T SEE THE FINALE TWIST COMING I SURE DIDN’T. I don’t think this is a show I would watch on a weekly basis but it’s perfect for a Netflix sesh.

The Mist 3.5/5 ⭐ – I think my expectations were probably a little too high for this one because I just thought it was … okay, average, it’s not terrible but it’s not award-winning either. Some of the storylines were really interesting and gripping but there were some that I thought were so boring and I skipped A LOT of dialogue – pretty much everything that happened early on in the church t b h. It has a lot more sci-fi paranormal vibes than horror ones and horror is what I wanted.

 

what I’ve been blogging

review: queens of geek

review: the bane chronicles

books i NEED to read before 2018

review: scythe

HARD | The Neighbourhood

1 thought on “9/17 | September Wrap – Up”

Leave a Reply

